My 2016: Year in Review

One of my new year’s resolutions is to really change how I approach blogging, so here’s hoping that a new approach to shannecdotes will be just what I need to really get into it!

Although we’re 12 days into 2017 (how did that happen?!) I wanted to look back on my 2016, which was a really transitional year in my life. Transitional in both great and not-so-great ways, but hey, that’s life. Since I want to focus shannecdotes on three things in this upcoming year: expressing my feelings on the shows/books/movies/etc that I am loving every month, recording adventures big and small, and leaving the rest open to whatever feels right, I wanted to start off this year with a look back at some of the adventures I wished I’d blogged about in full last year!

In 2016, I read 11 books (including the worst reading slump I’ve ever had, so I’m pretty impressed I could get through that many!) and started six awesome new TV shows in addition to some old favourites.

J A N U A R Y

  • I turned 22 and my roommates celebrated by making me some awesome cupcakes with symbols from some of my favourite things!
  • I celebrated my birthday by going to see the So You Think You Can Dance: Stage vs. Street tour. It was my first SYTYCD event in about five years!
  • I began my final semester of university, with these courses: Jane Austen, Cultural Rhetoric, Writing for New Media, Communication for Organizations, and Canadian Studies.

F E B R U A R Y

  • I celebrated Valentine’s Day by making the baking treat I am the most proud of: Commander Lexa cupcakes (which might become a tradition!)
  • My roommate and I started choreographing our duet that we performed in our dance club’s end of year showcase!
  • I discovered the joy of face-swapping.
  • My roommates and I did an Escape Room and escaped with 15 minutes to spare!
  • I started watching Shadowhunters!

M A R C H

  • A favourite character (no spoilers, just in case!) was killed off of the CW’s The 100, which caused an emotional post on my school blog about LGBTQ representation in television AND sparked my beginning of viewing television with a more critical eye.
  • I performed in my final end of year showcase for my university’s dance club, with five dances, the most I have ever performed in one show!
  • I attended the Penguin Teen on Tour book signing with Sabaa Tahir, Rachel Hawkins, Alison Goodman, Alwyn Hamilton and April Tucholke and gave them all handmade watercolour bookmarks!
  • I attended my final dance banquet and had to say goodbye to my friends that had become my dance family over the last four years.

A P R I L

  • I finished my English Language and Literature BA!
  • I moved out of my student house and (literally) moved into my parents’ basement. (It has, so far, gone overwhelmingly better than I could have imagined it and I am forever thankful for their generosity in allowing me to get my life together here at home.)

M A Y

  • I traveled for the first time without my family, on a vacation to Walt Disney World for a week of fun with my best friend to celebrate our graduations!
  • I started watching Fear the Walking Dead!

J U N E

  • I started a bookstagram account!
  • I graduated from university with distinction!
  • I started watching two shows that are now two of my favourites: Wynonna Earp and The Shannara Chronicles!

J U L Y / A U G U S T

  • Pokemon Go came to Canada and I started my mission to catch ’em all!
  • I saw Matilda the Musical  at the Ed Mirvish Theatre in Toronto, checking one of my dream musicals off of my bucket list!
  • I realized that my anxiety was spiraling out of control and made the (very difficult) decision to put everything on hold and get help, and started seeing a therapist.
  • I applied to my first ever pitch event, Pitch Wars! (I didn’t get in but the experience was so valuable.)
  • I attempted and lost Camp NaNoWriMo.
  • BUT, I was accepted as a Municipal Liaison for National Novel Writing Month!

S E P T E M B E R

  • I attended Fan Expo Canada and got to meet most of the cast of Wynonna Earp, tried virtual reality video games, saw some amazing cosplays, and watched panels with the cast members from Wynonna Earp (the full regular cast except for Kat Barrell) and The Walking Dead (Michael Cudlitz, Sonequa Martin-Green and Scott Wilson)!
  • I cut almost a foot off my hair: from hitting my lower back to a long bob just below my shoulders!
  • I realized bookstagram was not for me: I didn’t enjoy how forced it felt to take pictures I wasn’t happy with just to get likes and felt like I didn’t fit into the community because of my book preferences and stopped using bookstagram for the time being.

O C T O B E R

  • I attended The Lady is a Champ book tour with Marie Lu, Catherine Egan, Morgan Rhodes and Kiersten White, getting to meet my favourite author ever (Marie Lu!) in person!
  • I celebrated Halloween with a BB-8 painted pumpkin!
  • I started watching Arrested Development!

N O V E M B E R

  • Pokemon Sun and Moon were released and I got to have my favourite Pokemon journey yet with Argent the Rowlet at my side!
  • I volunteered as a municipal liaison for NaNoWriMo for the whole month.
  • I attempted and won NaNoWriMo, by changing my novel halfway through the month to work on a project I had drafted earlier in 2016, and made the decision to continue rewriting and reworking it for publication!

D E C E M B E R

  • I made it through a very stressful Christmas season!
  • I entered the One Little Word workshop by Ali Edwards, and chose a word (lighten) to guide me through my 2017 goals.
  • I started watching The Office!

img_4444

And here’s what I’m excited for for 2017…

  • hopefully attending both Toronto ComicCon and Fan Expo Canada.
  • a possible road trip to the east coast of Canada!
  • working hard to be in better health and getting in shape!
  • working hard to also be in better mental health: working through therapy and determining what other issues are hand-in-hand with my anxiety.
  • taking hand lettering seriously and working toward opening an etsy shop!
  • coming closer to making big decisions about what to go back to school for and what to pursue as a career alongside writing.
  • finishing SUPER, my work-in-progress, and starting the publishing process with it. (It’s been almost a year of work on Super and I am working through the second draft of it!)
  • reading and watching more books, tv and movies!

I think I’m in for another big transitional year, and I really am excited to work hard on blogging so I can bring you all along with me on this journey!

2017 might not be the greatest or happiest year for everyone, especially with global issues being so discouraging, but I am wishing you a year of personal happiness, growth and victory as we move forward from 2016.

signature

Leave a Reply

